Skip to main content

Non-GMO, Gluten-Free, Paleo: What Does It All Mean?

ATCertifications

Reading labels these days can be a little bit confusing. What do all those claims mean? Which are governed by a third party and which aren’t? Sometimes it’s hard to decipher it all. If you’ve ever wondered what the little icons and seals on our packages mean, we’ve broken it down for you.

Gluten-free

Plantains and cassava are naturally gluten free but we ensure there is no cross-contamination by using a facility where no products containing gluten are processed or handled. Gluten-free labeling is voluntary but for a food to be labeled gluten free, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration requires a food product to contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. Our plantains were tested and came in at under 5 ppm. While our products are gluten-free, we’re currently working on getting our gluten-free third-party certification.

Non-GMO

There’s a lot of debate surrounding the labeling of GMOs or genetically modified organisms. GMOs are living organisms whose genetic material has been artificially manipulated in a lab through genetic engineering. Our products are verified as non-GMO by the Non-GMO Project, the only independent verification entity for products made according to best practices for GMO avoidance.

Certified Paleo

Our products are certified by The Paleo Foundation. This means they are free of: grains, legumes, dairy, artificial colorings, artificial preservatives, artificial sweeteners and artificial flavor enhancers. Whew! That’s a mouthful. This little seal just makes it easier for those of you following a Paleo lifestyle or avoiding any of the above ingredients to know that our products meet those standards.

There you have it. Wishing you a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *